I am fasting today, along with most of my delegation and thousands of other people from the world.

We stand in solidarity with those who have been fasting for climate justice since November 6th. We wish to show that we are willing to put certain aspects of our current lifestyle aside to help heal the world; we fast to recognize the fact that many people will go hungry due to the effects of climate change and desertification; we fast because it is a very powerful way of making a statement.

It is also a very personal action. The fast is a time for deep reflection on ourselves and the world. Physically, it affects each of us differently–it’s generally quite simple to do; but for some people (like myself) it’s very painful to go hungry and leaves the participant feeling weak, shaky, and cranky by the end of the day.

For these and other reasons, fasting isn’t something everyone can agree to. For some, it is very radical and extreme. To others, it promotes self-harm, or seems to be a form of manipulation. I personally feel that if our countries don’t care about–or even take notice of–the masses thirsting and starving in Kenya, then they certainly will not care or notice the few who have been fasting since November. The actions seem both excessive and futile in my mind–although I have met the climate justice fasters, I admire them nevertheless; and although I am resistant to the idea, I think someone probably needs to do this.

I therefore will affirm my support and solidarity for justice, leadership, and morality in these changing and difficult times by joining the day-long fast. Please join us, if it appeals to you and would like to support us.

